Womens of India – A little More Equal!

1916 Maharshi Karve

starts SNDT University in Pune,the first womens university,with five students

1937 Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

becomes first woman to hold a Union cabinet post

1947 Sarojini Naidu

is first woman governor of independent India,in charge of United Provinces

1953 Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

scores again,becomes first woman president of the UN General Assembly


Hindu Succession Act gives women right to hold property

1966 Indira Gandhi

is Indias first woman Prime Minister and hopefully not the last

1972 Kiran Bedi

becomes the first woman IPS officer

1979 Mother Teresa

wins the Nobel Peace Prize

1984 Bachendri Pal

becomes the first Indian woman to climb Mount Everest


The 73rd Constitutional amendment reserves 33% seats in rural and urban local bodies for women

1997 Arundhati Roy

is first Indian woman to win Booker Prize


Hindu Succession Act amended to give daughters of deceased person equal rights to inheritance

2007 Pratibha Patil

becomes first woman President

2009 Meira Kumar

is first woman Speaker of Lok Sabha


Bill to reserve 33% seats for women in Parliament and legislative assemblies passed by RS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s